Kindness on Her Tongue



A “New” Kitchen Table

This post was not originally intended to go with Nester’s Price My Space Party, but it does kinda fit, so here it is.

This post is not about my dining room table. Though I can show you what it looks like right now. DSC01850Isn’t it soooo pretty? Hehe. Oh well, I hope that it will be finished within the next few days because I’m not sure I can take this very much longer.

THIS post is about my “new” kitchen table. Here’s the back story. Our kitchen table was given to us by my in-laws probably about six years ago. They bought it at a thrift store, so there is no way to know it’s exact age, but if I had to guess, I would say it was made in the 80’s, maybe early 90’s. It is so wobbly and those legs would just not stay tightened so replacing that table was on my list of things to do but not really high priority. Here is what it looks like:

DSC01825

It was not black when we got it. I painted it. That was before I knew about spray paint. I spent weeks painting those chairs. What a pain! For probably the last three or four years, I dreamed of replacing it with a beautiful black pedestal table. I pretty much gave up that dream because they are so expensive and, well, let’s face it, I’m pretty cheap. Two weeks ago I popped into Goodwill just to check on things, see  if there was anything that needed to live in my home, when lo and behold! what did I spy with my little eye but THIS:

DSC01809Look at this beauty! So I stood there looking at it and wondering what to do. It wobbled a little but I got down on the floor and messed with it and it just needed a leg tightend. No probelmo. Yes, I got down on the floor in Goodwill. I know. Gross. But, after all that, guess what? I left without that table. Wah wah. I went back two days later figuring it was gone because who would pass up such a table? Well, besides me. But there it was. And then guess what I did? I left without it AGAIN! What is WRONG with me? At this point, I went home and told the Man about it. He said  “Go back and get it!”, so I did, thinking again that it would be gone. But there it was! OK this story is getting way too long, but I haven’t yet mentioned how much I paid for this little beauty. Any guesses? I love to leave people guessing about  how much I’ve paid for something. First, some “after” shots:

DSC01849

And look at those chairs! I love my “new” chairs! I painted them Heirloom White (thank you bloggers everywhere for introducing me!) and recovered the seats in a chocolate colored burlap. Here’s another shot:

DSC01845

I know, the light fixture has got to go. I’m on it. OK, total cost for this project. Ready? Ready? Here we go. $45. Yup. It’s true. The table was $20! Can you imagine? Never in my wildest dreams would I have thought it possible. So here’s the breakdown:

Table – $20
Black paint – Scraped from the bottom of two cans I used for other projects. No charge for that 🙂
Chairs -FREE!
Paint for the chairs – a whopping $20! Yes it took about 5 cans of Heirloom White spray paint.
Burlap for covering the chair seats – $5. Burlap is incredibly cheap and Hobby Lobby is very generous with their 40% off coupons. In case you don’t know, you can go to their website and print their coupons. They allow you to use one a day which means that when they have their 40% off coupons, you can use 7 of them.

Oh – I have to point out one thing while we are in my kitchen. See the little scrolly shelf thing in the back left corner? There is a story to that, as well. I love this story. About 3 years ago I fell in love with this. But it has quite a price tag and it was really way too tall for the space I had in mind. I set forth to find a more affordable and appropriate version and finally found one on clearance at Kirkland’s for around $30 (can’t remember exactly, but in that neighborhood) I was and still am very excited over that find. And now that I see it in this picture, I realize that I need some more color over in that corner. What do you think? Maybe some red vases or pitchers or fruit on my little “etagere”?

In case you are wondering what will happen to my old kitchen table, it will hopefully be transformed into one of these.

Well that is all I have for this post. Stay tuned for next time (I really, really, really hope that will be my finished Dining Room table).

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Tara says:

    Your kitchen table is really beautiful. And I can’t believe that amazing thing was only $20!!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Cindy says:

    Woohoo! Way to go girlie! Your “new” table and chairs look amazing!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  3. Love the table! It’s what I’ve been looking for my whole life!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  4. amazing. Nice job, i love to see a good revamp. I NEED to know what black paint that is? It is so glossy and looks professionally done. I want to paint a table that I have white… I want it shiny like that!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
    • * Kindness On Her Tongue says:

      i had a little bit of paint left in two cans, both sherwin williams acrylic all surface enamel. one was satin, one was high gloss. i didn’t have enough of either one to do the whole table, so i did two coats of satin, then two coats of the high gloss. i then did 3 or 4 coats (not sure at this point – i just know i painted a LOT 🙂 of polycrylic (also available at sherwin williams) in semi-gloss. i did everything by the book for this project, which i’m usually too impatient to do, but i knew this is a piece that will get lots of use and abuse so i wanted the paint job to last. i painted my son’s toy box with the same all surface enamel high gloss in white. i really love the finish on it. i think you’ll like it for your table.

      | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
      • * Kindness On Her Tongue says:

        i forgot to tell you that i first lightly sanded and primed the whole thing with sherwin williams pro-block tinted primer.

        Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  5. * Christy says:

    Your table turned out amazing! Great job!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
    • * Kindness On Her Tongue says:

      thanks christy.

      | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  6. * melissa says:

    that’s great. love how it turned out.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  7. * Gina says:

    What a great transformation! The color combo is great, and I love the chocolate brown seats. You’re right about needing some color. if not red, what about aqua? It would look nice with the black, white and brown.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  8. * Kathleen says:

    Love the black table! Great Job!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  9. * Leslie says:

    awesome transformation!

    Please check out my blog if you have a minute.

    We’re helping Natalie’s Peace of Mind Fund

    http://www.creativecrafting08.blogspot.com

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  10. * songbirdtiff says:

    Beautiful transformation! Thanks for sharing.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  11. * Brenda Kula says:

    You know before I say that it looks utterly fantastic! I never find anything at the Goodwill. You were so fortunate to find it, for had I happened upon it, I would happily have paid two or three times that much! As for your etagere, in my opinion, some reds and/or light or medium green items would perk it up.
    Brenda

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  12. Faabulous Table…love it!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  13. * daylilylane says:

    Woah! I’m so jealous! I’d LOVE a table like that in our little house. Way to go, what a find. You’ve inspired me. I want a pedestal table so badly. I must be patient. I’ll find one someday. 😉

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  14. * Marie says:

    Woo hoo! What a fabulous find that table was! You did a terrific job painting it. Love the glossy finish. I’m a spray paint lover and will have to try that finish on something! Your little stand in the corner is so cute. All of my rooms are pretty neutral, until recently I tried some splashes of blue and LOVE the look. I think you should try a pop of turquoise or aqua – it would look great with the browns. Thank you for sharing!

    Blessings,
    Marie

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  15. * Ma says:

    I am now amazing the people at work with your handiwork !

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  16. * kathy eller says:

    I LOOOVE it!!

    I wouldnt have thought t paint the table black. It looks incredible AND even if you had ruined it–it was $20.00. wow. How is the burlap holding up? I have chairs that NEED new material…(they actually sag with no support in the middle AT ALL and NEED to be redone….you’ve left me wodnering about burlap 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

