Kindness on Her Tongue



An unexpected find

DSC01770

So I was at Goodwill the other day and picked up this footed glass bowl. It was red. I think I paid $2 for it. My plan was to spray paint it white and use it decoratively. I couldn’t bring myself to do it. I just kept thinking about putting real fruit in it and I couldn’t reconcile spray paint with food applications. So I bought some GooGone Xtreme. Actually I bought it for something completely unrelated, but decided to try it. GooGone Xtreme actually dissolved my gloves. I had to go to Lowe’s and buy special gloves that don’t dissolve. After about an hour or two (I lost track of how long it took), two handfuls of cotton balls and umpteen cotton swabs, I ended up with this:DSC01771Not the most exciting project I’ve done this summer, but I felt very satisfied with it.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. All for $10 pingbacked on 7 years, 11 months ago

Comments

  1. WOW! I’m amazed that came off. I would have thought it was actually red glass. Cute find!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  2. So cool! Love it! I too would of thought it was red glass! How neat!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  3. * Mary says:

    That goo gone extreme sounds like some powerful stuff. Nice job.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  4. * Miriam says:

    I see these all the time at thrift stores but the red is usually partially scratched off so I never get it. Your Idea is great and I will have to pick some up now it looks beautiful just with glass. Some lemons or green apples would look amazing in there!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
    • * Kindness On Her Tongue says:

      that’s exactly what was wrong with this one! it was scratched up so i knew i couldn’t use it as is, though if the red was intact it would have been a pretty little item.

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  5. I’ve seen those old red bowls before, and I’ve been tempted to get one, but the red was usually peeling off. Glad to know for future reference that GooGone works frighteningly well! The bowl looks great!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  6. * Jennifer says:

    Wow…great job!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

