Kindness on Her Tongue



Pots

DIY Day @ ASPTL

A few weeks back I saw some cute white pots with black letters or numbers on them. I can’t remember which nor where exactly. But as soon as I saw them I thought, “How cute would it be to whip up some little pots and spell out Samuel’s name on them for his desk (post about the desk is forthcoming). Actually, my original idea was to paint some little pails, but wouldn’t ya know the one time when I wanted them, those little pails that Target has had in their dollar aisle for like 100 years are not to be found anywhere. I checked Lowe’s and they had some little pails but they weren’t the size I wanted and would have been quite pricey for the 6 that I needed to spell his name. I walked around Lowe’s for about 20 minutes thinking there just had to be something in that store that would work. Then I had it! Clay pots from the garden section. 84 cents each. So I bought 6, brought them home, primed them and sprayed them white. Then I found a font I liked and, in the size I needed, printed out his name, and taped each letter to a pot. I used sewing tracing paper and traced the outline of the letters onto the pot. Then I used black craft paint and a teeny tiny brush and painted the letters. A dear friend pointed out that a black Sharpie would have worked, too, but alas, I am not the clever on my own. DSC01769He loves these so much! They sit on his desk and he keeps pencils, markers, crayons, and other miscellaneous 8 year old desk supplies in them. He also enjoys mixing them up to see what fun words he can spell with this name.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kitty Scraps says:

    Very cute project! I can see many possibiliities for this one, I love it!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Tara says:

    I do love those!
    By the way… still waiting for that post about his desk.
    🙂

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
    • * Kindness On Her Tongue says:

      i know, i know. this post started out that way. but i needed to do one quick and there are still things that need to hung and prettied up around his desk.

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  3. * Shelley says:

    What a fun idea. Stopping by from ASPTL. I think your letters look perfect.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  4. * becky says:

    What a great idea! Neat, tidy, special to each child. Fun!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  5. * Queenbee says:

    Great idea!!!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  6. * Joy says:

    What a clever way to organize!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  7. * Randi says:

    Very cute!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  8. * Miriam says:

    I love that idea! I am going to do that now! Thanks for the post.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

