Kindness on Her Tongue



The Sad Little Table and a Sassy Globe

DIY Day @ ASPTL

When we bought our home in May 2002, there was much work to be done. One really lovely thing about the house was that it was filled with “treasures” that the previous owner had left behind. Much of it was thrown away immediately. Some things were kept, reassessed later and then thrown away. Then there were the real treasures. Maybe treasure is too strong of a word. How about things that weren’t total garbage and could possibly have some purpose. One of these things was a little corner table/stand type thing. I’m sure you’ve all seen these around.

DSC01695

It has lived these years behind our front door not really serving any purpose. But one day I walked past it and thought, “I am going to paint it black!” So I did. Then it once again lived behind our front door looking fabulous but still serving no purpose. Then one day (another day) I realized that I needed something in the empty corner of our school/family room. I also needed a home for our “new” globe which would live near the wall map. This is what I ended up with:

DSC01943

Yay! I love my little map/globe corner. Everything is right there and easily accessible to my little student. I found the globe at Goodwill for $10. It’s in perfect condition, but the metal part was brassy. I popped the globe out and spray painted the brassy part with Oil Rubbed Bronze Spray Paint. Ahh – much better.

I’m linking up to DIY Day at A Soft Place to Land and Transformation Thursday at The Shabby Chic Cottage.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jane says:

    Very nice! I love the look of a globe stand.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  2. * heidi says:

    Oh my gosh! I feel the same way about the things that got left behind in my new home and have a post written, just waiting to add pictures and publish!

    I love the stand, looks great!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Jenn says:

    Such a cute idea! It looks perfect with the globe on top!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  4. * Britt says:

    It looks so cute now! I love the black and I love the globe and map – cute!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Carly says:

    This looks gteat! How nice!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  6. * Wendy says:

    What a cute little table! It looks great black.

    Thanks for stopping by!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  7. * Marie says:

    Hello! I’m lovin’ your little map/globe corner too! The table painted black is fabulous. Thank you for sharing!

    Blessings,
    Marie

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  8. What a great use for that little table. ANd the globe looks very posh on top!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

