Kindness on Her Tongue



Chicken (not really) Ravioli

DIY Day @ ASPTL

Though we rarely eat out, my husband just finished his semester last week and wished to go celebrate. Whenever we eat at a restaurant, I’m always on the watch for new dishes to make at home. I ordered a delightful little entree called simply “Chicken Ravioli.”  It turned out to be so much more than chicken ravioli. The ravioli were filled with chopped chicken and bacon and then smothered in a smoked gouda sauce. YUM!!! Even while I was eating I was dissecting the dish in order to reverse engineer the recipe. It was really quite simple but so scrumptious. I changed it a bit and made it with bowtie noodles instead of making ravioli. I have made ravioli once from scratch and it is so not worth the effort.

The players:

1 lb bowtie noodles

2 Tbsp butter

2 heaping Tbsp flour

2 cloves crushed garlic

2 cups WHOLE milk

Coarse salt

2 cups cooked chicken breast, chopped

4 strips cooked bacon, chopped

And the main attraction:

2 cups grated Smoked Gouda, mmmmmm!!!

Cook the bowties, drain, add back in the pot.

Add the chicken and bacon to the pasta.

Meanwhile, in a sauce pan, melt butter over low heat. Add garlic and stir until it smells amAzing, being very careful not to burn the butter nor the garlic, this just takes a few moments. Please don’t walk away to get the camera as I did. I almost had to start over.

Whisk in flour and cook for a minute until flour and butter are well mixed and there are no lumps. Add salt (start with about 1/2 tsp – you can adjust it later.) Pour in all the milk at once and whisk constantly over low heat until the sauce is nice and thick and bubbly. Mix in the Gouda and let it cook for another minute or so.

Check for salt. Pour over pasta mixture and mix well. So sorry, I was too excited to take a picture of the finished product, but I assure you that not only was it tasty, it was pretty, too. Eat and delight your palette!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Gail says:

    Hey, you’re up and running again! I was meaning to get this recipe from you after you told me about it. I’ll be sure to try this out. Thanks.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

